Register

Carrier branding?

This is a discussion on Carrier branding? within the Rogers (Canada) forums, part of the Galaxy Nexus Carriers category; Just curious about something. According to everything I have read on the net, the Nexus didn't come with any carrier branding. Yet I see "Rogers" ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Cassiopeia
    Member #
    4030
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    78

    Carrier branding?

    Just curious about something. According to everything I have read on the net, the Nexus didn't come with any carrier branding. Yet I see "Rogers" on my notification bar, as well as the lock screen. Wouldn't this be considered branding?

    I figure this is the same as the "Google experience" yet stuck with updates through Samsung. None of this stuff is a deal breaker by any means, yet they are all reasons why I picked this phone in the first place. I don't want Rogers / Samsung anywhere near my devices, historically they just seem to make a mess of it...

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Aquarius
    Member #
    614
    Liked
    507 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Luis Obispo
    Posts
    2,736
    The Carrier Text comes from the Carrier in the eri.xml file. It's a feature of Android for the Carriers.

  4. #3
    Aquarius
    Member #
    614
    Liked
    507 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Luis Obispo
    Posts
    2,736
    Forgive my bad manners, Welcome to GNF. One of the cool things about this phone is that the options in some of the Custom ROMS allow you to replace this text with anything you want, and we get the Latest updates to Android long before the carriers release them

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    26
    Liked
    1125 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    psl fla
    Posts
    5,908
    Do you mean on your pull down...if so verizon has it there too but if you root use aokp(thats what I use) and change it

  6. #5
    Cassiopeia
    Member #
    4030
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    78
    Is there a way to change it on stock (yakju or one of the variants)?

    I imagine I'll have to root to be able to access the file to make the change?

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Member #
    7
    Liked
    1736 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16,051
    That is correct. Some custom ROMs offer that ability. Can't do it on stock.

    Tap'd on my GNex

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    26
    Liked
    1125 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    psl fla
    Posts
    5,908
    ^^ what Mujibar said

 

 

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [POLL] What carrier will you purchase the Galaxy Nexus on?
    By dandroid in forum Galaxy Nexus Polls
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 10:16 AM
  2. [MOD] Remove VZW Carrier Text from Lock/Drop
    By bhfd64 in forum Galaxy Nexus Hacking & Mods [LTE/CDMA]
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 02:16 AM
  3. Finally, a decent summary of Carrier IQ
    By alphawave7 in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 04:50 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 11:18 AM

Search tags for this page

android eri.xml
,

android eri.xml on gnex

,

carrier branding

,

change carrier branding galaxy nexus

,

change carrier name galaxy nexus

,

eri.xml galaxy nexus

,

eri.xml location

,

galaxy nexus branding

,

galaxy nexus carrier branding

,

galaxy nexus change carrier name

,

galaxy nexus eri.xml

,
galaxy nexus locked to carrier
,

how to change carrier info galaxy nexus

,

remove carrier branding galaxy nexus

,

samsung galaxy nexus switch carrier

Click on a term to search for related topics.