Register

Boot Loop [Stock Nexus]

This is a discussion on Boot Loop [Stock Nexus] within the Rescue Squad forums, part of the Galaxy Nexus Support Forum category; Previously, I had Verizon switch on my old Samsung Fascinate when the Nexus took a nose-dive. Well, it turns out Verizon retired my SIM card ...

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 77 of 77
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Boot Loop [Stock Nexus]

  1. #71
    Milky Way
    Member #
    6214
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    9
    Previously, I had Verizon switch on my old Samsung Fascinate when the Nexus took a nose-dive. Well, it turns out Verizon retired my SIM card when they switched me over to my old phone so I have to wait until they open up in 5 hours so that I can go get a new SIM. I guess that means I get to do some customization before I head out there. Phone boots again. Thanks to you, Stephen (for sticking with me through this). To answer your question, I have never used CWM Recovery.
    ...
    ...
    ...
    I have, now. That was super easy to use. Props to Koush on that little gem. Root is restored.

    Now I get to go back to VZW, hand them my unlocked and rooted little devil, and tell them to give me a new SIM. What a fantastic day!

  2. #72
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    40
    Liked
    327 times
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    2,269
    That's great news. Really glad I was able to help. You oughta be just about unstoppable with that thing now. That recovery is also what you'd use to flash custom ROMs, kernels, other mods etc. They'd just require wipes here and there. Your phone will have reverted to the stock recovery now that you've booted it. You can check the install instructions here for getting the custom recovery installed permanently if you want to get into the development scene even further. Plenty of great stuff around.
    -Stephen
    Need Help? Don't panic (yet) Call the Rescue Squad!

    "On Sheep, Wolves, and Sheepdogs"

  3. #73
    Milky Way
    Member #
    6214
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    9
    I just checked, the phone did not revert to the stock recovery. It's still got CWMR installed. I'm not complaining. But I've never understood what all this talk about custom ROMs was all about. I mean, the only real reasons I need root are so I can backup everything and so I can run my wifi-tether. Maybe I just don't know enough about what the Android OS is capable of. I'm just left scratching my head when I hear people talk about their phones getting flashed more than the GirlsGoneWild cameraman. Maybe you know of a post that details what I "need" to do with my phone (with a custom ROM) that I'm not doing now... and why?

  4. #74
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    40
    Liked
    327 times
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    2,269
    As far as ROMs go the draw is with customization. You can do things like adding search and/or menu softkeys to your navigation bar, change the order and color of those softkeys, add toggles to the pulldown, change the style and order of those toggles, choose which ones show and which don't, different options for what your battery display looks like and where it's at, custom carrier text, custom power button menu options, among many other things. Each ROM has it's own settings based on what the developer has included and they'll update every so often with new options and features. That's why everyone is always changing all the time. They're also fine tuned behind the scenes and are widely accepted as being faster, smoother, crisper running. Probably the best place to be able to see all of the different things you can do is the screenshot thread. Probably start on the last page and work backwards since there wasn't anything cool out for the first couple weeks of the phone's existence haha.
    knmb323 likes this.
    -Stephen
    Need Help? Don't panic (yet) Call the Rescue Squad!

    "On Sheep, Wolves, and Sheepdogs"

  5. #75
    Milky Way
    Member #
    6139
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Help please... I was watching tv and noticed that my GN rebooted on its own. Now it's stuck in a permanent loop. I disabled the data completely, muted audio, and while I try to clear browser cache, there's not enough time for "calculating" and the phone goes into the loop. I have not had many issues with the random reboots. I got my GN from Negri. Does anyone know how the warranty is handled on this thing. I deeply hate skinned androids and I was happy with this phone. Can anyone help with the look reboot. It happened out of the blue. I dread the thought of hard reset (I don't want to loose my photos). HELP please...

  6. #76
    Spotlight Member
    Member #
    1388
    Liked
    118 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    1,291
    Are you able to get into cwm?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

  7. #77
    Administrator
    Member #
    7
    Liked
    1736 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16,051
    Quote Originally Posted by ordxpres View Post
    Help please... I was watching tv and noticed that my GN rebooted on its own. Now it's stuck in a permanent loop. I disabled the data completely, muted audio, and while I try to clear browser cache, there's not enough time for "calculating" and the phone goes into the loop. I have not had many issues with the random reboots. I got my GN from Negri. Does anyone know how the warranty is handled on this thing. I deeply hate skinned androids and I was happy with this phone. Can anyone help with the look reboot. It happened out of the blue. I dread the thought of hard reset (I don't want to loose my photos). HELP please...
    First question is are you rooted or stock? Have you pulled the battery and tried to reboot? If rooted, do you have a backup you can restore? If stock, you may very well need to do a factory reset. Since you bought it from Negri, I presume it's a GSM phone?

    Tap'd on my GNex

 

 
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google Maps Update Caused Boot Loop
    By NDub21 in forum Galaxy Nexus Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 10:02 AM
  2. Galaxy Nexus Boot Loop : not rooted
    By krunal1981 in forum Galaxy Nexus General Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 10:01 AM
  3. Boot loop
    By mauydpt in forum Rescue Squad
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 12:51 PM
  4. Team Kang Boot loop
    By xtcee in forum Rescue Squad
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 02:59 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 10:31 AM

Search tags for this page

flash tgz

,

galaxy nexus encryption unsuccessful

,
how to flash .tgz
,
moving from cm to stock boot loop nexus 4
,

nexus 4 boot loop

,

nexus 5 boot loop

,

nexus 5 bootloop

,
nexus 6 bootloop
,

nexus 7 boot loop

,
nexus 7 boot loop fix
,

odin communicator has stopped working

,

odin3 communicator has stopped working

,
odin3 communicator has stopped working#scso
,
odin3 communicator stopped working
,
xda nexus 4 boot loop
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread