Register

Cannot connect to my data internet after rooting + unlocking bootloader or new rom

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to my data internet after rooting + unlocking bootloader or new rom within the Rescue Squad forums, part of the Galaxy Nexus Support Forum category; I cannot for the life of me figure out why my phone can't connect to to the internet. Im on Rogers wireless (Toronto Canada) bought ...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Milky Way
    Member #
    4929
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    13

    Cannot connect to my data internet after rooting + unlocking bootloader or new rom

    I cannot for the life of me figure out why my phone can't connect to to the internet.

    Im on Rogers wireless (Toronto Canada) bought this phone from Virgin Mobile (if this info even matters)

    4.0.3

    going back to stock after rooting and unlocking, the internet works fine and dandy...

    after rooting and flashing new rom, i cant connect to the net...

    I have the GSM version...(unless im dumb and have the CDMA one. [i bought the phone from Virgin Mobile/ How do i check?])

    I can also see the HSPA/H signal but it's greyed out. it switches from H to 3G and its still greyed out as well. Wifi works.
    I tried checking *#*#4636#*#* and the smsc is filled out. put to GSM/CDMA Auto...

    I tried restoring APNS, putting it on airplane mode and turning it back on lol
    I tried 3 roms, APEX, & GUMMYNEX and going back to 4.0.2 stock. (stock works with data)
    The only thing i havent done/couldnt do was flash a radio? I dont know how and don't know which one to use or when i tried this one; "radio-maguro-i9250xxkk6.img" it said aborted...even in zip version.

    I need some major help. I've been going at this for about 3 hours now lol ever since i got back from work.

    All these roms have what i want and I don't want to go back to stock Help?

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    36
    Liked
    978 times
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Left Coast
    Posts
    7,185
    Are you flashing GAPPS after flashing the roms? That would allow you to sign in to your Google account.






    Before you flash anything can you get back to stock? How to get back to stock using Odin



    Have you backed up your files and pictures? I see too many desperate cries for help recovering deleted priceless pictures with no solution.

    Need to hard reset? How to Hard Reset-Factory Data Reset.

  4. #3
    Milky Way
    Member #
    4929
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    13
    Yes i am flashing GAPPS right after flashing the rom. I can sign in my google account just fine over Wifi. What i can't do is connect to my data/net/3g/HSPA...

    the H or 3G is greyed out.

  5. #4
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    849
    Liked
    149 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    746
    To check if it's CDMA or GSM, power down and pull the battery...the model number is listed behind the battery.

    SCH-i515 is CDMA
    GT-i9250 is GSM

    Make sure you're flashing the right ROM version, CDMA or GSM, depending which you have.

  6. #5
    Milky Way
    Member #
    4929
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dippa View Post
    To check if it's CDMA or GSM, power down and pull the battery...the model number is listed behind the battery.

    SCH-i515 is CDMA
    GT-i9250 is GSM

    Make sure you're flashing the right ROM version, CDMA or GSM, depending which you have.

    I'm flashing ROMS that indicate that they are the GSM version.
    From this list/site http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...81&postcount=2

    i flashed APEX & somewhere form this forum, i found gummynex or something and flashed that one as well.

    and to confirm, my device is GT-i9250M.


    Something is preventing me from connecting to data because i can only see the Up arrow and not the down arrow on the H/3G signal. sigh*

    I refuse to go back to stock after spending 3 hours yesterday trying to work things out LOL. Last option is to go back to stock and never be able to flash a rom...basically a brick to me 'cause it's no fun.


    would unlocking bootloader into CDMA version have ANYTHING to do with this?
    I unlocked my bootloader using Wugfresh's tool kit into CDMA by accident. that is the only thing i know i did wrong...but going back to stock (bootloader still unlocked but unrooted).. my data works

    also when flashing a rom, why do i have to wipe cache? & or wipe my data? (just curious as what this does)
    Last edited by Melloyellow; 02-10-2012 at 07:33 AM.

  7. #6
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    1202
    Liked
    166 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    483
    What Baseband is listed and what kernel is listed as being on your phone? And what rom is on it right now?

    Thanks
    Baton Rouge, LA

  8. #7
    Milky Way
    Member #
    4929
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by BayouFlyFisher View Post
    What Baseband is listed and what kernel is listed as being on your phone? And what rom is on it right now?

    Thanks

    Apex Rom v1.0.2 ; http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...81&postcount=2

    #2 in that link

    as for baseband - 19250UGKL1

    android version 4.0.3

    kernel 3.0.18-imoseyon- 1.8.0-04373-gc91166d
    imoseyon@ubuntu#361

    build number IML74K

    build date Tues jan 31


    If you need any other info, let me know =\


    on a side note, what does wiping Dalvik Cache do? is it mandatory before flashing a rom?

  9. #8
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    1202
    Liked
    166 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    483
    Well, I recommend you do the following.:

    1. Re-Download the Rom and Gapps to the computer and transfer to the phone,
    2. Wipe, per the dev's instructions - in this case it is Data and Cache,
    3. Install Rom,
    4. Install the dev's Gapps
    5. Reboot.

    Good luck
    Baton Rouge, LA

  10. #9
    Milky Way
    Member #
    4929
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by BayouFlyFisher View Post
    Well, I recommend you do the following.:

    1. Re-Download the Rom and Gapps to the computer and transfer to the phone,
    2. Wipe, per the dev's instructions - in this case it is Data and Cache,
    3. Install Rom,
    4. Install the dev's Gapps
    5. Reboot.

    Good luck
    If this has been done, is there anything else i cna try besides going bak to stock? Lol

  11. #10
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    1202
    Liked
    166 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by Melloyellow View Post
    If this has been done, is there anything else i cna try besides going bak to stock? Lol
    Even if it's been done, I would still do it over - especially the re-download part.

    If it still doesn't work, and this was my phone, I would use this to flash back to stock and start over: Announcing WugFresh Galaxy Nexus Root Toolkit for GSM Versions!

    Good luck

    Good luck.
    Baton Rouge, LA

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Why no data/internet while in a call?
    By larry0071 in forum Galaxy Nexus General Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 06:39 PM
  2. Rooting and unlocking bootloader
    By BlazinSS in forum Galaxy Nexus Hacking & Mods [LTE/CDMA]
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 01:03 PM
  3. Unlocking Bootloader Question
    By imail724 in forum Galaxy Nexus Hacking & Mods [LTE/CDMA]
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-24-2011, 12:35 PM
  4. Unlocking the bootloader
    By scott62185 in forum Galaxy Nexus Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-16-2011, 09:47 AM
  5. Unlocking the bootloader?
    By scott62185 in forum Galaxy Nexus General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 06:57 AM

Search tags for this page

(unblock data after flashing)
,

after flashing my phone i cant use the internet?

,
after rooting and unlocking gs4, data not able to use
,
cannot connect to mobile network after flashing samsung phone
,
canot connect to tmobile after the phone is rooted
,
cant accesss internet on my note 2 galaxy
,

cant connect to internet after rooting

,
cant connect to internet after rooting galaxy gear
,

how do i connect my flash phone to internet

,

i cannot connect samsung note 2 to mobile network

,

internet doesn't work after root

,

internet not working on android after rooting

,

no internet after flashing rom

,
samsung galaxy s959 smsc
,

why cant i connect to the internet after unlocking my phone

Click on a term to search for related topics.