Register

The Newbie's Guide to Hacking the Galaxy Nexus

This is a discussion on The Newbie's Guide to Hacking the Galaxy Nexus within the Galaxy Nexus Hacking Guides forums, part of the Galaxy Nexus Development category; The Newbie's Guide to Hacking the Galaxy Nexus (c) 2012 by Seriana. GPLv3. Table of Contents Introduction The Galaxy Nexus Tools you need on the ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: The Newbie's Guide to Hacking the Galaxy Nexus

Milky Way
    Member #
    Liked
    15 times

(c) 2012 by Seriana. GPLv3.

Table of Contents
    1. Introduction
    2. The Galaxy Nexus
    3. Tools you need on the PC side
    4. Tools you'll want on the Android side
    5. Booting
    6. Unlocking
    7. Rooting
    8. Installing custom ROMs
    9. Backups
    10. Restore to stock
    11. Common Problems
    12. Miscellaneous
    13. Glossary
    14. Suggested ROMs
    15. Changelog

1. Introduction

Me: I'm an Android newbie. I'm a hardcore techie and an iPhone jailbreaking veteran, but it took me a bit to get comfortable rooting my new Nexus. While there are a lot of how-to tutorials that explain HOW to root the thing, I didn't find a good comprehensive explanation of how all the pieces fit together. Everything here I figured out in the last few days from scattered bits on the web and lots of experimentation.

You: You're an Android newbie too! You're fairly technically proficient, and you know some Linux basics. You want to open the hood of your new toy and start tinkering, but you're not quite sure where to start.

This guide: This is where I dump my brain into yours. I'm going to focus on conceptual understanding rather than creating another how-to guide. If I do it right you should be able to go from brand-new-stock to running custom ROMs without needing step-by-step instructions.